top of page

Live At The Budokan Arena

Tokyo, December 1983

Deluxe Box Set, 2LP, 1CD & Digital

Released on 10th June

Multi-platinum selling English supergroup ASIA announce they are to release ASIA In Asia – Live At The Budokan, Tokyo, 1983, as a Deluxe box set containing: 2LP, 2xCD, 40 page 12” book, Blu-ray video, printed memorabilia and ‘ASIA’ pin badge,through BMG Records on 10th June 2022.

Also available as a 2LP Gatefold, 1CD and Digital Formats.

Pre-order HERE.

Watch a live performance of Here Comes The Feeling from the concert below:

ASIA, Geoff Downes (The Buggles & YES, keyboards & backing vocals), Steve Howe (YES, guitars & backing vocals) and Carl Palmer (Emerson, Lake & Palmer, drums) with special guest Greg Lake (Emerson, Lake & Palmer, bass & lead vocals), visited Japan at the end of two years of touring to promote their phenomenally successful eponymous debut album (1982) and the follow-up Alpha (1983).

The second of three shows at the historic Budokan arena in Tokyo, on 6th December 1983, would make history as first live broadcast between Japan and MTV in America, an amazing achievement for its time. This performance has previously only been available on VHS. The concert featured some of ASIA’s biggest and most memorable tracks including, Time Again, Only Time Will Tell, Sole Survivor, Wildest Dreams and the global hit single Heat Of The Moment.

Greg Lake stepped in, at short notice, following the sudden departure of ASIA’s founder member John Wetton ahead of the Japanese dates. Despite a short period for Lake to learn the songs, and some changes to the arrangements to accommodate Lake’s different vocal range, the Japanese shows were hailed a great success.

Carl Palmer was proud of his former ELP bandmate for performing exceptionally in the situation. “Greg Lake did a great job jumping into John’s shoes. So many songs to sing, he did it so well. It was impressive."

Geoff Downes, too, was pleased with the event, especially given the massive undertaking. “It was a grand and sumptuous affair. The stage was the iconic ‘A-frame’ shape we had for the US tour. I think we pulled it off admirably in the end. There were some good people behind us: crew, lighting designers, cameramen and backing singers, it was quite a production."

The show was an important global commitment,” says Steve Howe, “so we had to rise to the occasion, which we did, with Greg’s help. We couldn't have done it without him, for sure."

For Downes, the release stands as a testament to the band’s resilience. “It deserves its place in the Asia catalogue. Aside from its musical strengths,it demonstrates the level of professionalism that we have always striven to bring to the ASIA name.”

This newly packaged box set includes:

  • Exclusive new artwork by Roger Dean

  • Colour vinyl 2LP of original MTV Telecast concert audio, remixed 2022 from the master tapes, with two previously unreleased, post broadcast encore tracks

  • audio CDs: Live at The Budokan Arena, Tokyo, Japan, MTV satellite telecast concert (6 December 1983, USA time), remixed 2022 from the master tapes by Matt Wiggins and Rick Nelson Live at The Budokan Arena, Tokyo, Japan, previous night’s show (6 December 1983, Japanese Time) 2022 remix

  • Blu-ray of restored original broadcast video with 2022 remixed audio (Duration: 1hr 20 mins), plus restored original concert laserdisc featuring alternate camera angles (Duration: 1hr)

  • 40 page, deluxe 12” book with rare and unseen band photos, memorabilia and extensive new sleeve notes new quotes from the original band members

  • New, bespoke metal and enamel ‘ASIA’ logo pin badge

  • Printed memorabilia:

  • 2 x exclusive new Roger Dean artwork A3 posters

  • 2 x reproduced live broadcast original concert tickets

  • Replicated, matt laminated original AAA backstage pass

  • Original concert VHS advert

  • 3 x glossy 8” x 5” rare band photos

ASIA In Asia – Live At The Budokan, Tokyo, 1983 Tracklist(2 x LPs,CD1&CD2)

  1. Introduction From Mark Goodman (MTV)

  2. Time Again

  3. The Heat Goes On

  4. Here Comes The Feeling

  5. Eye To Eye

  6. Steve Howe Solo (Sketches In The Sun)

  7. Only Time Will Tell

  8. Open Your Eyes

  9. Geoffrey Downes Solo (Ihiri - The Setting Sun / Bolero)

  10. The Smile Has Left Your Eyes

  11. Wildest Dreams

  12. Carl Palmer Solo

  13. Heat Of The Moment

  14. Sole Survivor

  15. Cutting It Fine

  16. Daylight

ASIA In Asia – Live At The Budokan, Tokyo, 1983 is available as a Deluxe box set containing: 2LP, 2xCD, 40 page 12” book, Blu-ray video, printed memorabilia and ‘ASIA’ pin badge, as well as 2LP, 1CD & Digital formatson 10thJune 2022 through BMG Records. Pre-order HERE.

About ASIA

ASIA was a true rock ‘supergroup’ bringing together the talents of John Wetton, Carl Palmer, Geoff Downes and Steve Howe who had already amassed tens of millions of record sales with their collective bands of the 70s.

Leaving behind their progressive roots, ASIA embraced the commercial FM rock sound that dominated US airwaves and took that, and the new MTV video channel, by storm. The single Heat Of The Moment was a world-wide monster smash and their eponymous 1982 debut album spent an incredible 9 weeks at No. 1 on the Billboard chart as ASIA became the biggest selling album of the year and world tour dates sold out.

A second album, Alpha, was released in 1983. The four original members reconvened in 2006 for a world tour, to celebrate the 25th anniversary of that incredible success, and the album Phoenix followed.

While the members were still heavily involved in other projects, they came together again to record Omega in 2010 and XXX in 2012, both albums were acclaimed by their faithful fans and supported by more world tours.

Steve Howe stepped back from ASIA to concentrate on his work with YES and was absent for 2014’s Gravitas. Following this tour came the news of John Wetton’s treatment for cancer, a fight he sadly lost in 2017.

ASIA in Asia - Live at the Budokan, Tokyo 1983 Out 10th June

Facebook – Original Asia

Twitter - @OriginalAsia

Instagram - asiatheband

47 views0 comments


bottom of page