top of page

Steve Hackett “Out Of The Tunnel’s Mouth”

Former Genesis guitarist, Steve Hackett, has returned to his roots with his latest album ‘Out Of The Tunnel’s Mouth’, which will be released 5th October. This will be the first release on Steve’s own label Wolfworks Records and is available exclusively from

To support the release of ‘Out of the Tunnel’s Mouth’ Steve will bring his Train On The Road Tour to the UK in November (details below).

On “Out Of The Tunnel’s Mouth” Steve has assembled an array of musicians who compliment his virtuosity with both the electric and acoustic guitar.

The team includes (in alphabetical order) Nick Beggs: bass & Chapman stick, Dick Driver: double bass, John Hackett: flute, Steve Hackett:guitar & vocals, Roger King: keyboards & programming, Lauren King: backing vocals, Ferenc Kovacs: violin, Amanda Lehmann: vocals, Jo Lehmann: backing vocals, Anthony Phillips: twelve string guitar, Chris Squire: bass, Christine Townsend: violin & viola and Rob Townsend: soprano sax.

Recorded entirely in Steve’s living room Steve and Roger King embraced all the recording techniques available to them, the only criteria applied was “does it sound really good?” The answer is, yes, it sounds awesomely good.

Steve says, “I’m totally biased of course but I suspect it’s probably the best album ever crafted in a Twickenham living room since the Stones set fire to the Station Hotel!” Of his own playing and of the album, Steve continues, “Of course I’ve made a lack of identifiable style a calling card over the years because I always want a trip around the entire musical universe on every musical outing. That’s what radio attempted to deliver in the less discerning days of my inebriated youth. I’m harder to please now and infinitely more sober, but I had just as much of a ball making “Out of the Tunnel’s Mouth” with the team around me as I did when I hung on Auntie BBC’s every nocturnal emission when I was a young hopeful.”

Track listing:

1 Fire On The Moon

2 Nomads

3 Emerald And Ash

4 Tubehead

5 Sleepers

6 Ghost In The Glass

7 Still Waters

8 Last Train To Istanbul

During his career, Steve’s inherent talent has yielded success in a diverse range of musical genres, from his years with Genesis, through jazz, world music and blues. He is an equally gifted classical guitarist, with 4 hit classical albums to his name.

Steve Hackett’s official website is

24th November 2007 Album Release: Steve Hackett – TRIBUTE CAMCD39 Camino Records – Release date 11th February 2008. Tribute’ is a continuing expression of Steve’s fascination with the classical guitar and an homage to the composers and performers who have inspired him.

16th July 2006 Album Release: Steve Hackett WILD ORCHIDS Catalogue no. CAMCD38 CAMINO RECORDS Release date 11 September 2006.

2005 CD/Tour News Metamorpheus CD and Acoustic Trio Tour (March 2005)

2004 Tour News Tour (March 2004)

2003 Tour News Tour (October 2003) & To Watch The Storms CD

1999 CD Release Darktown CD

1997 CD Release A Midsummer Night’s Dream CD

2 views0 comments


bottom of page