top of page

Jethro Tull – The String Quartets

Christmas Tracks “Ring Out These Bells”

& “Pass The Bottle”

Following fast on the footsteps of "Pass The Bottle (A Christmas Song)," Jethro Tull The String Quartet release a second Christmas offering “Ring Out These Bells,” an adaptation of Jethro Tull’s “Ring Out, Solstice Bells,” from their forthcoming album Jethro Tull The String Quartet out on 24th March. Both tracks are available now for instant download with the full album iTunes pre-order .

Watch the video for “Ring Out These Bells (Ring Out, Solstice Bells)” below:

Says Anderson:“‘Ring Out These Bells” was written for the Songs From The Wood album as a reference to the winter solstice pagan festival and the latter day transplanted Christian notional birth of the Biblical Jesus, but then the record company thought that we should release it as a Christmas single.

After a futile attempt to record a simpler, catchier version, we reverted to the original recording. It was released just too late to make the Top Ten charts in time for Christmas. But it has remained a radio play staple in the radio playlists for Christmas ever since. This new string quartet version captures the spirit of the original recording but with a really authentic Christmas Classical interpretation with the flute and a bit of the vocal sections of the familiar version. I can just feel the mistletoe quivering in anticipation of a quick kiss and no tell.”

Jethro Tull The String Quartets have launched a Pledge Music campaign where fans can pre-order product, purchase signed CDs and Vinyl LPs.

Watch Ian Anderson talking about this project below:

“Pass The Bottle (A Christmas Song)” Official Audio. Download both tracks instantly with the full album iTunes pre-order!


  1. In the Past (Living In The Past)

  2. Sossity Waiting (Sossity: You’re a Woman / Reasons For Waiting)

  3. Bungle (Bungle In The Jungle)

  4. We Used to Bach (We Used to Know / Bach Prelude C Major)

  5. Farm, the Fourway (Farm On The Freeway)

  6. Songs and Horses (Songs From The Wood / Heavy Horses)

  7. Only the Giving (Wond’ring Aloud)

  8. Loco (Locomotive Breath)

  9. Pass the Bottle (A Christmas Song)

  10. Velvet Gold (Velvet Green)

  11. Ring Out These Bells (Ring Out, Solstice Bells)

  12. Aquafugue (Aqualung)

Formed in 1968, Jethro Tull has released 30 studio and live albums, selling more than 60 million copies worldwide. With nearly 50 years’ history, the band has performed more than 3,000 concerts in 40 countries, playing 100+ concerts each year. Now, Ian Anderson, John O’Hara, and the Carducci Quartet are set to release Jethro Tull – The String Quartets, a collection of 12 re-imagined Tull classics, allowing Tull fans and classical music connoisseurs to enjoy the band’s vast catalogue in a new way. The album will be available on 24th March 2017 via BMG Records. A 2017 global tour will accompany the release. About The Carducci Quartet: Winners of international competitions, including the Concert Artists Guild International Competition 2007 and Finland’s Kuhmo International Chamber Music Competition, this Anglo-Irish quartet has appeared at prestigious venues across the globe including the Wigmore Hall, London; National Concert Hall, Dublin; Tivoli Concert Hall, Copenhagen; Carnegie Hall, New York and Library of Congress and John F Kennedy Center, Washington DC. Festival appearances include Cheltenham Music Festival, Festival Messiaen au pays Meije, West Cork Chamber Music festival, Kuhmo Festival and the Wratislavia Cantans Festival in Poland. The Carducci Quartet are highly celebrated for their interpretation of contemporary repertoire, and are regularly invited to perform new works.

2 views0 comments


bottom of page