top of page

Girlschool Celebrate Their 30th Anniversary

With Hit And Run – Revisited

The best rock album ever recorded by an all girl band, Girlschool, celebrates 30 years of cranium crunching rock, with a 2011 re-recording of their classic New Wave of British Heavy Metal 1981 album Hit And Run – Revisited. Released on the 26th September through Wacken Records through UDR, the album features 2 bonus tracks including a newly recorded version of Demolition Man from their debut album and a duet with Doro. Hit and Run Revisited will be available in 3 formats: digipack CD, Vinyl LP and digital download.

There are a very limited number of rock albums that have stood the test of time. Only true masterpieces continue to sound fresh and exciting years after their release. The reason for their cult status: the songs are timeless and the album’s sound has captured the magic of the moment perfectly. Girlschool’s second album, Hit And Run, which hit the UK charts at no. 5 was such a classic.

The band line-up is amazingly the same as it was in 1981, apart from Jackie Chambers who replaced the late Kelly Johnson. Enid Williams on bass, drummer Denise Dufort and Kim McAuliffe vocals and guitars, who says about the album “We’ve made quite a few changes. But I’m not gonna say anything about them because we’re hoping that our fans will notice for themselves, just to see how well they know the original ones. Of course it’s a different sound, we have Jackie play now, obviously, instead of Kelly, and also again, studio-wise it’s just a completely different experience because the technology now is incredible compared to what we had in those days.”


1 C‘mon Let‘s Go

2 The Hunter

3 (I’m Your) Victim

4 Kick It Down

5 Following the Crowd

6 Tush

7 Hit and Run

8 Watch Your Step

9 Back to Start

10Yeah Right

11Future Flash


12Demolition Boys

13Hit And Run (feat. Doro)

Girlschool have 2 UK dates scheduled in December – Hard Rock Hell V on 2nd and Saltash Livewire on 3rd – more to come.

2 views0 comments


bottom of page