top of page

Focus To Release New Single - Focus 13

Taken From Their Forthcoming Album

FOCUS 12

On Sale July 5th


Spirit of Unicorn Music are pleased to announce the release of Focus 13, the new single from Focus, taken from their forthcoming album Focus 12, which releases on July 5th.

 

Focus 13 was written by progressive music legend and long-standing band leader, Thijs Van Leer.  About the single, bassist Udo Pannekeet comments “Focus 13 is a composition full of strong, emotive and beautiful melodies which only Thijs could write.”

 

The track features the highly skilled drumming touch that only a true elder statesman of progressive music can deliver.  Pierre van der Linden excels, providing a flow and rhythm which creates tension yet also allows the melody to breath.

 

Pannekeet continues “The drum part is totally unique!” He concludes “As part of our line of numbered Focus tracks, 13 really sticks out.”

 

The enigmatic Van Leer agrees, “I began this composition with nothing. Zero.  Yet it has ended up as a true hero!”

 

The album Focus 12 was recorded at the world-renowned Wisseloord Studios, in the band’s native  country of the Netherlands and is produced by both Pannekeet and guitarist Menno Gootjes. 

 

Set to be an exciting Summer for Focus, July will not only see the release of Focus 12 but the band will also fly to the USA and Canada for a string of 21 live shows, as part of the Heat Of The Moment Tour alongside other progressive music greats, Asia, Curved Air and Martin Turner - ex Wishbone Ash.

 

Fjord 13 is available to download now from all good streaming services.

 

The album Focus 12 releases on July 5th and once again features the stunning artwork of Roger Dean.  It will be available on CD Digipak, vinyl (housed in a gatefold sleeve) and via digital download.  You can pre-order the album HERE.


Focus are:

 

Thijs van Leer : Flute, Organ, Piano, Synths

Menno Gootjes : Guitars, Piano, Synths

Pierre van der Linden : Drums

Udo Pannekeet : Bass, Synths, Programming

 

Heat Of The Moment 2024 – USA Tour Dates:

 

Wednesday, 3rd July: Ridgefield Playhouse, Ridgefield

Thursday, 4th July: Fallsview Casino, Niagara Falls

Saturday, 6th July: Chevalier Theatre, Medford

Sunday, 7th July: The Paramount, Huntingdon

Tuesday, 9th July: Bergen Performing Arts Center, Englewood

Wednesday, 10th July: Count Basie Center, Red Bank

Friday, 12th July: Tropicana Showroom, Atlantic City

Saturday, 13th July: Wind Creek Event Center, Bethlehem

Sunday, 14th July: American Music Theatre, Lancaster

Tuesday, 16th July: Spartanburg Memorial Auditorium, Spartanburg

Wednesday, 17th July: Ryman Auditorium, Nashville

Thursday, 18th July: Columbia County Performing Arts Center, Evans

Saturday, 20th July: Hard Rock Live, Orlando

Sunday, 21st July: The Parker Theatre, Fort Lauderdale

Monday, 22nd July: Seminole Hard Rock, Tampa

Wednesday, 24th July: North Charleston PAC, North Charleston

Thursday, 25th July: Macon City Auditorium, Macon

Friday, 26th July: Saeger Theatre, Mobile

Sunday, 28th July: VBC Mark Smith Concert Hall, Huntsville

Tuesday, 30th July: The Armada Theatre, St Charles

Wednesday, 31st July: The Pabst Theater, Milwaukee


Photo by Rens Plascheck

17 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page