top of page

Downes Braide Association

Halcyon Hymns

2LP White Vinyl Album Out Now

Downes Braide Association (DBA) release the 2LP White Vinyl of their fourth studio album Halcyon Hymns today.

Buy Halcyon Hymns (all formats) HERE.

Geoff Downes says: “The vinyl release of “Halcyon Hymns” really is the icing on the cake for Chris & I. We have had an amazing amount of positivity from all quarters, and the incredible response to the album has been way beyond our greatest expectations. Now, to see the album in all its white vinyl glory, with the wonderful Roger Dean artwork really takes it a step beyond and makes it extra special for us. We’re sure you will appreciate our sincere endeavours and hard work to present you with what we hope will be a real keepsake for you all. Many thanks for your continued support.”

Chris Braide adds: “Geoff and I really feel that our music was made for vinyl and Roger Dean’s stunning art is at its optimum when printed as a 12-inch LP sleeve. We also know that our wonderful and dedicated fans would love to see “Halcyon Hymns” presented in this format so this is for them too!”

Chris Braide (vocals, piano, keyboards, guitar, programming) and Geoff Downes (piano, keyboards, programming) are joined on Halcyon Hymns by Ash Soan on drums and Andy Hodge (bass). Additional guests are Dave Bainbridge, Barney Ashton-Bullock, Marc Almond, Tim Weller, Joe Catcheside, David Longdon, Elijah and Sascha Braide.

Halcyon Hymns is the fifth DBA collaboration and follows their three previous critically acclaimed studio albums Pictures of You (2012), Suburban Ghosts (2015) and Skyscraper Souls (2017). The duo has also released Live In England (2019) recorded at their first-ever concert at Trading Boundaries, East Sussex, in 2018.

About Downes Braide Association

Downes Braide Association was formed as a studio-based project by Geoff Downes and Chris Braide and has already produced three acclaimed studio albums: Pictures Of You (2012), Suburban Ghosts (2015) and Skyscraper Souls (2017) together with a live album Live In England (2019). The project draws on Downes’ and Braide’s rich musical heritage to create a delightfully accessible brand of progressive rock.

British singer-songwriter-pianist Chris Braide has recently returned to UK shores after many years based in California. He enjoys enormous success writing and producing music for film scores, advertising campaigns and working closely with artists including Sia – he co-wrote Music from her new album, Toni Braxton, Lana Del Rey, Marc Almond, Christina Aguilera, Beyonce, Paloma Faith, Britney Spears, David Guetta, Chris also co-wrote the music with Hans Zimmer and Sia for Seven Worlds One Planet – David Attenborough series. He has won an Ivor Novello Award and was nominated for a Grammy.

Keyboard wizard Geoff Downes was thrust into the limelight with the worldwide success of Video Killed The Radio Star in 1979. The single topped the charts chart in 16 countries for The Buggles duo of Geoff and Trevor Horn (vocals, bass guitar). They briefly joined prog legends YES before Downes became a founder member of the supergroup Asia with YES guitarist Steve Howe, ELP drummer Carl Palmer and the late John Wetton (vocals, bass guitar).

The Wetton-Downes composition Heat Of The Moment became a world-wide hit in 1982 heralding many years of success for Asia with their FM radio-friendly brand of rock. Downes later returned to YES in 2012 and remains with the band alongside Steve Howe.

Downes Braide Association Halcyon Hymns 2LP White Vinyl and CD/DVD HERE.

22 views0 comments


bottom of page