top of page

DBA (Downes Braide Association)

Add Second Show At Trading Boundaries

Downes Braide Association (DBA) recently announced the release of Live In England a 2CD/DVD Box set on 29th November 2019 via Cherry Red Records. A double-vinyl edition will be released on 14th February. The album features stunning artwork by the legendary Roger Dean.

To coincide with the vinyl release of Live in England, DBA will be on stage once again at Trading Boundaries on 14th February. As the show is close to selling out, the band has added a second show on 15th February. These intimate gigs are totally unique. Joining Geoff Downes and Chris Braide this time around will be guitarist Dave Bainbridge (Iona, Lifesigns), together with bass player Andy Hodge and David Longdon (Big Big Train) and the show will again be narrated by Barney Ashton Bullock.

For full information and to book tickets please visit or contact the box office on 01825 790200.

Live In England, the fourth album release by the duo Geoff Downes and Chris Braide, is their first live album, recorded at their first ever concert at Trading Boundaries, East Sussex, on 28th September 2108. Whilst DBA was conceived as a studio project, the concert was a great success and features material from the DBA albums Suburban Ghosts (2015) and Skyscraper Souls (2017) together with tracks from Geoff Downes’ time with Buggles and Asia.

The line-up for the Live In England album was the same as for the new live shows in Feb 2020 apart from featuring David Colquhoun on guitars.

Geoff Downes commented: “It was a most memorable evening, last September, at the iconic Trading Boundaries venue and we believe we have managed to capture the magic of the whole

night. Chris and I were supported by some amazing musicians – Andy Hodge, Dave Colquhoun, David Longdon and narrated by Barney Ashton Bullock. As well as songs from our albums we have added some extra special treats and we hope it gives a rare insight into the special songwriting and production relationship Chris and I have developed over the last decade on the journey that is DBA.

“We sincerely hope you enjoy the music with us, from this very special occasion, in a raw and live setting, and we thank you for all your support.”

Chris Braide says: “After many requests for DBA to perform live, Geoff and myself, along with the excellent musicianship of Andy Hodge, Dave Colquhoun, David Longdon and Barney Ashton Bullock, finally took to the stage for the first time at the stunning Trading Boundaries. It was a wonderful evening surrounded by friends and the beautiful English countryside and this live album is a great document of that magical evening and encapsulates what DBA is all about.”

The full track-listing is:


  1. Prelude/Skyscraper Souls

  2. Machinery Of Fate

  3. Live Twice

  4. Vanity

  5. Suburban Ghosts

  6. Bolero/Video Killed The Radio Star

  7. Glacier Girl

  8. Angel On Your Shoulder


  1. Tomorrow

  2. Lighthouse

  3. Skin Deep

  4. Darker Times

  5. Finale

  6. Heat Of The Moment

  7. The Smile Has Left Your Eyes

  8. Dreaming Of England


  1. Prelude/Skyscraper Souls

  2. Machinery Of Fate

  3. Live Twice

  4. Vanity

  5. Suburban Ghosts

  6. Bolero/Video Killed The Radio Star

  7. Glacier Girl

  8. Angel On Your Shoulder

  9. Tomorrow

  10. Lighthouse

  11. Skin Deep

  12. Darker Times

  13. Finale

  14. Heat Of The Moment

  15. The Smile Has Left Your Eyes

  16. Dreaming Of England

You can pre-order the album HERE.

Downes Braide Association: Live In England is released on 29th November 2019 and is available to order from Cherry Red Records HERE.

A vinyl edition of the live album is scheduled for release on 14th February 2020.

About Downes Braide Association

Downes Braide Association was formed by Geoff Downes and Chris Braide as a studio-based project which has now produced three studio albums: Pictures Of You (2012), Suburban Ghosts (2015) and Skyscraper Souls (2017). The project brings together Downes’ and Braide’s musical heritage into a delightfully accessible brand of progressive rock.

Geoff Downes was catapulted into the limelight in 1979 with the worldwide success of Video Killed The Radio Star which topped the single chart in 16 countries for The Buggles, a duo of Geoff Downes and Trevor Horn (vocals, bass guitar). The duo briefly joined the pro legends Yes before Downes became a founder member of the supergroup Asia with YES guitarist Steve Howe, ELP drummer Carl Palmer and John Wetton (vocals, bass guitar).

Asia enjoyed many years of success with their FM radio-friendly brand of rock which began in 1982 with the Wetton-Downes composition Heat Of The Moment. They recently embarked on 2 high profile package tours as special guests of Journey in 2017 and Yes in 2019.

Downes has now returned to the YES fold and continues to tour with the band alongside Steve Howe.

British singer-songwriter-pianist Chris Braide has, for many years, been based in California where he has enjoyed enormous success writing and producing music for film scores and advertising campaigns and working closely with artists including Sia, Lana Del Rey, Christina Aguilera, Beyoncé, Paloma Faith, Britney Spears and Marc Almond.

Release Date: 29th November

Cat No: X2XCD004

You can pre-order the album HERE.

2 views0 comments


bottom of page